Students have decided the Students’ Union’s executive team for the 2012-2013 school year

News Staff - Fri Mar 09, 2012

Chief Returning Officer Zach Fentiman announced the results of the March 7 & 8 vote to an expectant and tense crowd of candidates and their volunteers late Thursday evening.

Elected to the position of President was Colten Yamagishi, 2011-12’s Vice President (Student Life). Victory for Colten was declared in the fourth round with 63% of the vote.

Dustin Chelen won the title of Vice President (Academic) in the fourth round with 59% of the vote.

Petros Kusmu will advocate on behalf of students to government as Vice President (External). Petros received his majority 52% in the second round of ballots.

Incumbent Vice President (Operations & Finance) Andy Cheema got voter approval for one more year, earning victory in the fourth round with 53% of the vote.

Saadiq Sumar will oversee events and protect student interest in residences as Vice President (Student Life). As the sole candidate in his race, Saadiq beat out the “None of the Above” option in the first round with 81% of votes.

Brent Kelly earned voters’ trust to speak for students as the Board of Governors Representative. He achieved victory in the second round with 54% of the votes cast.

The total number of ballots cast in this year’s election was 6,313, a voter turnout rate of 21.6%.

For more information please contact:
Zach Fentiman
Chief Returning Officer
University of Alberta Students’ Union
P: 780-492-7102

News Stories