Candidates for the 2015-2016 SU Executive Election

News Staff - Mon Feb 23, 2015

Campaigning has begun for the 2015-2016 SU Executive Election!

Decide whom you’ll cast your vote for during the campaign period leading up to the election by following the campaigns and attending the forums.

Voting takes place on Wednesday, March 4 and Thursday, March 5. To vote online please visit on one of the voting days and follow the instructions listed below.

Live streaming of election forums and everything else you need to know about voting can be found here.

See you on the campaign trail!

Your 2015-2016 nominees are…


Navneet Khinda

Frank Daniels (Joke candidate)

Omnibot (Joke candidate)

Vice President Academic

Shakiba Azimi

Fahim Rahman

Vice President External

Blue Knox

Dylan Hanwell

Vice President Operations & Finance

Samer Sleiman

Cody Bondarchuk

Vice President Student Life

Vivian Kwan

Param Singh

Board of Governors Representative

Azhar Khan

The Landing Referendum Question

Do you support a $1.50 fee per student per semester to fund The Landing, a student space for gender and sexual diversity located in the lower level of the Students' Union Building, open to all undergraduate students? If the referendum passes, The Landing’s governance structure will become independent of the Students’ Union. The Landing provides programming such as drop-in hours, peer mentorship groups, resources and referrals, events, education sessions, and volunteer opportunities.

The fee will be collected from full-time and part-time undergraduate students in the Fall and Winter semester; Augustana and Off-Campus students will be exempt. Students will have the option to opt out online from the fee.

Funding areas: Operating costs (staff wages and supplies) Programming, events, outreach and awareness Grants for projects supporting gender and sexual diversity Volunteer program

Funding areas are determined and prioritized by The Landing's staff and Board. The Board will consists of 12 members from the following categories: Three students at large One Students’ Union Council member (selected by Students’ Council) One Students' Union staff member One University staff member Three representatives from LGBTQ* serving organizations Two community members Program Manager of The Landing (non-voting member)

Composition of the board may be changed by a joint resolution of the Board and Students’ Council.

Cold Beverage Agreement Plebiscite Question

A single-source cold beverage agreement is a contract with a beverage supplier where that supplier has the exclusive right to have their non-alcoholic cold beverages (such as pop, juice, and energy drinks) sold, provided or distributed on campus. This condition applies to all members of the campus community and all campus groups, except in instance of personal consumption. The contract will include contributions to scholarships and bursaries, student programming to the Students’ Union, and commitments to sustainability and waste reduction on campus.

Should the Students’ Union enter into a single source cold beverage agreement it will include the following conditions:

· The term of the agreement is 10 years; · Over the term, a minimum of $3 million is provided for bursaries and scholarships; · Over the term, the Students’ Union will receive a minimum of $500,000 to fund student priorities; · Pricing is kept competitive with off-campus markets; · The supplier commits to provide an ongoing on-campus program of waste reduction, energy efficiency, and water conservation, and/or to support existing University programs in these areas; and · The supplier is selected by a joint committee of the University and the Students’ Union.

Do you support the Students’ Union entering into a University-wide single source cold beverage agreement?

Election Forums

Tuesday, February 24. 12:30 PM SUBstage

Wednesday, February 25. 12:00 PM SUBstage

Thursday, February 26. 6:00 PM Lister Hall, Second Floor Cafeteria

Friday, February 27. 12:00 PM Student Lounge & Cafeteria, Pavillon McMahon, CSJ Campus

Monday, March 2. 12:00 PM Myer Horowitz Forum

News Stories