

University of Alberta Students' Union

STUDENTS' COUNCIL

Tuesday, April 25, 2017 NREF 2-001

We would like to acknowledge that our University and our Students' Union are located on Treaty 6 Territory. We are grateful to be on Dene, Cree, Saulteaux, Métis, Blackfoot, and Nakota Sioux territory; specifically the ancestral space of the Papaschase Cree. These Nations are our family, friends, faculty, staff, students, and peers. As members of the University of Alberta Students' Union we honour the nation-to-nation treaty relationship. We aspire for our learning, research, teaching, and governance to acknowledge continuing colonial violence and respect Indigenous knowledges and traditions.

ORDER PAPER (SC 2017-00)

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER 6:00 PM.

- 2017-00/1 SPEAKERS BUSINESS
- 2017-00/1a Election of a Speaker

Application Information will be distributed at the meeting.

Saadiq Sumar was chosen as Speaker for the Students' Council 2017/18 term.

- 2017-00/2 PRESENTATIONS
- **2017-00/2a** Introduction to Robert's' Rules of Order Presented by the Students' Union.
- 2017-00/3 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT
- 2017-00/4 BOARD AND COMMITTEE REPORT
- 2017-00/5 <u>OPEN FORUM</u>
- 2017-00/6 QUESTION PERIOD
- 2017-00/7 BOARD AND COMMITTEE BUSINESS
- 2017-00/8 <u>GENERAL ORDERS</u>
- 2017-00/8a Approval of Students' Council 2017-18 Meeting Schedule

Please see SC 17.00-01

BANISTER/PACHES MOVE to amend the meeting schedule such that the first meeting will occur May 9, 2017 rather than May 2, 2017.

VOTE 27/2/0 CARRIED

BANISTER/PACHES MOVE to approve the meeting schedule as amended.

VOTE 30/0/0 CARRIED

2017-00/8b Nomination to Council Committees

Audit Committee(7) Bylaw Committee(7) Council Administration Committee(5) Finance Committee(7) Nominating Committee(5) Policy Committee(6)

Please see SC 17-00.02

Councillor Brophy, Councillor Sorensen, Councillor Lillo, Councillor Choi, Councillor Swain, Councillor Palindat, Councillor Thibaudeau appointed to Audit Committee.

Councillor Brophy, Councillor Gidda, Councillor Jones, Councillor Howie, VP Paches, Councillor Piasecki, Councillor Christensen appointed to the Bylaw Committee.

Councillor Gidda, Councillor Jones, Councillor Howie, Councillor DiPinto, Councillor Sunday appointed to the Council Administration Committee.

Councillor Howell, Councillor Hassan, Councillor Lillo, Councillor Bridarolli, Councillor Mahal, Councillor Palindat, Councillor Thibaudeau appointed to Finance Committee.

Councillor Howell, Councillor Farris, Councillor Hassan, Councillor Wilson, Councillor Thibaudeau appointed to Nominating Committee.

Councillor Brophy, Councillor Piasecki, Councillor Lefferson, Councillor Sunday, Councillor Howie, Councillor Choi appointed to Policy Committee. 2017-00/8c SUNDAY MOVES to appoint 5 members of Students' Council to the Aboriginal and Reconciliation Ad Hoc committee.

Please see SC 17-00.03

Councillor Sunday, Councillor Sandare, Councillor Howell, Councillor Lefferson, Councilor Thibaudeau appointed to Aboriginal and Reconciliation Ad Hoc committee.

2017-00/9 INFORMATION ITEMS

MEETING ADJOURNED AT 9:16PM.