Understanding University Faculties and Departments

New Student Orientation

The University offers programs in a wide array of fields, and sometimes it can be difficult to understand where you fit in to the big picture. Here’s a quick guide to understanding faculties at the University of Alberta.

Faculties are divisions of the University grouped by broad field of study. These are the most commonly used divisions for students and it is important to know which faculty you belong to! The University of Alberta currently has 20 different faculties:

  • Agriculture Life and Environmental Sciences (ALES)
  • Alberta School of Business
  • Arts
  • Augustana Campus
  • Campus Saint-Jean (CSJ)
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Extension
  • Graduate Studies and Research
  • Kinesiology, Sport, and Recreation (KSR)
  • Law
  • Medicine and Dentistry
  • Native Studies
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • School of Public Health
  • Rehabilitation Medicine
  • Science
  • St. Joseph’s College
  • St. Stephen’s College

Not all faculties are created equal though; some are for professional studies like Law and Medicine and Dentistry, while others like Business are not open to first-year students. Faculties are as diverse as their fields of study.

If you are unable to find your faculty on the list above, you may be confusing a department or major with your faculty. Faculties are comprised of smaller units focused on a narrower field of study called Departments. Departments will be more similar to the names of your major and the classes you are taking, but they are not your faculty! Whether you are majoring in Economics or Sociology, you are still a student in the Faculty of Arts.

This should be all of the information you need to fill out the many forms asking you for your Faculty. Don’t be afraid to ask any of our volunteers for more information about your faculty during New Student Orientation!